Tags

, , , , ,


Tomorrow NASA is expecting over a 26 to 100 pieces of debris from a 20-year-old satellite to hit earth. Many people are worried that the pieces of this dead satellite will hit human beings. U.S. Space officials say the chances that a person will be hit is a 1 in 3200 chance. You can compare this statistic to the chances of a person being struck by lightning.

Let’s not forget back in March of 2008 when space officials claimed that a dead U.S. spy satellite was expected to hit earth. Just how often will we be on sky-alert? I don’t know about you, but this is shocking for me. What worries me is that these 500 pound satellite’s (yes there are more than 1 floating above us) are orbiting our atmosphere and like all other electronics they will soon lose their power. It seems obvious that what goes up must come down, right?  How often in my lifetime will we have to worry about objects falling out the sky?

Of course with these spy satellites floating around U.S. intelligences’ main concern is sensitive information getting into the wrong hands. I’m only worried about someone getting hit. Although through a satellite’s descent to earth the satellite will lose half of its weight through the journey of entering into earths atmosphere, I still worry about human life. Since three-quarters of earth is covered in water I guess you and I are….SAFE?!?!?

