Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


On September 11, 2001 I was getting ready to walk out the door for school. I went to school on the west coast, so when both planes hit I was just waking up. It was the worst event I have ever witnessed in my life. It was graphic and horrific, just like a scary movie. I kept imagining being on the 100th floor working when the planes hit. Feeling scared, alone, and most of all feeling HOT from all the heat of the multiple explosions. I have never prayed so hard and long for someone other than myself. It was the first moment in my teenage life that I didn’t feel invincible…

A moment of silence today is definitely in order for all the men and women we lost on 9/11 and in the War on Terror. Pray for the families that have no mother, father, brother, sister or friend because of the events on 9/11. Recognize that our American freedoms are fragile and that our lives are a precious gift.

Everyone on the east coast is in a frenzy trying to figure out if there will be another attack today. Police have increased their presence and they have added numerous vehicle checkpoints at numerous bridges in tunnels along the east coast.There are reports that a reliable source has confirmed that 3 men were sent to America earlier this month and are going to commit an attack on America. Due to this I am going to pay my respects in my home. I now DC is considered a possible target and I do not want to take any chances.

Although this whole weekend there were memorials to remember 9/11, today there will be a special ceremony at Ground Zero with President Obama today. Later on in the day the President will also travel to Shanksville and the Pentagon to pay his respects.

Today Ground Zero will only be open to the family members of those lost in the attack, but it will open to the public September 12, 2011.

The hours of operation are as follows:

From September 12, 2011 – January 8, 2012 
Monday – Friday, 10:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Weekends and Holidays, 9:00 a.m. – 8:00 p.m.
Last entry at 7:00 p.m.

From January 9, 2012 – March 10, 2012 
Monday – Sunday, 10:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.
Last entry at 5:00 p.m.

You can expect to see two beautiful waterfall pools that have all of the victims of September 22, 2011 and February 26, 1993 terrorist attacks names inscribed on the bronze panel lining of the pool. There will be oak trees and the callery pear tree (known as the survivor tree) that were nursed back to health after the attacks.

You will be able to stand at the heart of the World Trade Center (WTC) and witness how the area is being rebuilt. There will be 4 new towers built in the northwest and southeast corners of the plaza.

There are tridents being built at the entrance of the 9/11 Memorial Museum within a large Pavillion with a glass atrium. Although the 9/11 Memorial Museum will not be open until 2012, you will be able to view the majestic tridents from the plaza.

How will you pay your respects today? However you plan to spend your day today, I hope  you give thanks to whomever you give thanks to for your life!

To learn more about the Memorial site please click here.

