Tags

, , , , , ,


Recently I have been very absorbed with traveling to Rome, Italy. Rome is such a historic city with many attractions that I find particularly interesting. When I want to travel to a particular destination, I make sure that I research the location that I desire to travel to so I can learning more about the country and its services. As I gathered information about Italy I stumbled on some interesting information.

The United States Department of State has a program called the Smart Traveler Enrollment Program (STEP). When I read the title, I said to myself “Hey, I want to be a smart traveler”, so I researched deeper into the program.

In light of all the terrorist activity and natural disasters the U.S. government has a new comprehensive program that is designed for the government as well as any travelers family members to get in touch with the traveler in the wake of an emergency. They have changed the registration with the embassies program to that of STEP.

In the past, when I have traveled abroad I have been lucky enough to not have experienced any real emergencies. The U.S. consular officers are able to assist Americans that experience serious medical, legal and financial difficulties while traveling abroad. They are prepared to assist by providing names of local attorneys, doctors and able to provide loans to destitute Americans. U.S. consular offers also perform notary,  issue passports as well as register a child that has been born abroad.

For your convenience here is a list of all of the U.S. Embassies abroad. I would recommend that BEFORE you travel do some research on the country you’re traveling to with the U.S. Department of State and how to protect yourself when traveling with the STEP program.

Happy travels!!!
